wednesday – what is hip?

“The more the things change, the more they stay the same.  It may be a different age, but I’m on the same page. But there’s one thing that I’ve found.  I still be diggin’ on James Brown.”

I was a little shocked to find that these guys are still playing and are better than ever. I discovered the world of jazz with bands like this and they connected the past with the rest of the world and brought it into the present.

I am only jealous that I don’t live near Ft. Lauderdale where I could watch them play on April 20th at the Parker Playhouse. These giants of jazz have been behind so much music it’s incredible. From the San Francisco summer of love to Santana, they have underscored my life.

TowerOfPower_2017

tower-of-power-1967

One thought on “wednesday – what is hip?

Leave a Reply

