foto friday – flag waving day

160701-flag-02

In my books, nothing ever good comes from people waving flags. Maybe it was the era I grew up in; maybe it’s just a hunch that I’ve been unable to shake. This past week or two has been no exception.

Don’t get me wrong. There are some pretty amazing flags out there. Watching the stars and stripes billow under a blue sky would make me proud to call it my own. I get it. But often it seems there is too much focus on the flag and very little on the ground its planted on.

To say that I haven’t been concerned about the goings on over the past couple of weeks would be an understatement. Like most historical events, we have been walking into this one with our eyes wide open, ’nuff said.

I am certain of one thing though; throughout history and geographic location, ultimately we are more the same than we are different.  It’s clear that ignoring this for the better part of 50 years will have a cost. The question is how much?

Maybe we should put down the flags for a minute and take a look around?

160701-flag-01
Baskins Beach near Ottawa, ON
Leave a Reply

